Brian Toth and Kayla Durden are Crowned Champions at the 31st Corona Extra Pro Surf Circuit O’Neill Series #5


Domes Beach, Rincon, Puerto Rico (Sunday, March 5, 2017) – The 2017 Corona Extra Pro Surf Circuit O’Neill Series finished and crowned champions today in 2-4 foot building surf. The surfers started the morning off in difficult small conditions but as forecasted by midday NNE pulses began to show and offered plenty of fun waves. The champions, Brian Toth (PR) and Kayla Durden (FL), were able to prove themselves in varying waves and wind conditions.

Toth channeled his stand-out performance on day one into a $10,000 champion check on the final day. He stayed consistent catching rights and lefts annihilating them with sharp pocket surfing. The final showdown was between Brian Toth and Alejandro Moreda. Both surfers opened the heat up with good waves but Toth was able to hold the win with the second highest heat score of the day a 16.17. Moreda also posted multiple good by putting his power surfing on display. Other top performances of day were semi finalists Ricardo Delgado (PR) and Gabriel Escudero (PR). The highest wave and heat score total was awarded to Escudero with a 9.0 and a 17.03, he received the O’Neill Performance of the Event award for $1,000. Escudero and Delgado entertained the crowd with their air reverses and long combinations. Both were able to use his speed to make long sections where other surfers were getting caught behind.

Kayla Durden (Fl) came out with the victory on the women’s side of competition. Durden was able to find herself on the better waves and utilize her priority toward a win over reigning champ, Alexis Engstrom (NY) and take home the $5,000 first prize check. Although she came up short in the final, Engstrom was able to put up a great performance during the whole event. Durden win the O’Neill Performance of the Event award for her high heat total a 13.33 and receive a check for $1,000.  Other top surfers on the women’s side were semi-finalists Quincy Davis (NY) and Idalis Alvarado (PR).  Davis had a notable performance in her semi-final narrowly losing to Durden.

The generous sponsors of the Corona Extra Pro Circuit are:

Corona Extra, O’neill, AT&T, Jose Cuervo, Pitorro, Hang Loose Surf Shop, Werner Vega Surfboards, El Nuevo Día, Wapa, Alfa Rock, Mundo Rad.    


31st Edition Corona Extra Pro Surf Circuit O’neill Series


Feb. 4, 2017
For Immediate Release:
Corona Extra Pro Surfing Circuit O'neill Series Back at Domes!

Event #2 on the "Corona Extra Pro Surf Circuit O'neill Series" competition season.

This year, a field of seventhy five or more contestants is expected next mont that will include a great field of competitors from the US, the Caribbean, Central and South América.

The contest will have a total purse of $37,000, divided into $25,000 for the Men and $12,000 for the Women, which means that we will be able to pay the winner of the Men a first prize of $10,000. The Women's champion will receive $5,000". 



 MG 7561 


Brian Toth


María Kuzmovich!



30th Edition

Corona Pro Surf Circuit Oneill Series #4



On Sunday, October 9, 2016 at Middles Beach, near the town of Isabela, pro surfing in Puerto Rico Began again with the crowning of men’s and women’s champions Brian Toth and Maria Kuzmovich. Their victories gave them the early lead in the yearly APSPR rankings. Brian Toth, a local from Isabela, has previously won 8 events, as well as four seasons championships.

In today’s final Toth defeated fellow puertorrican Gabriel Escudero, both are goofy footers surfing on their backhand in the right handers at Middles, Toth was spectacular with the best wave displaying four vertical backhand hits to earn a score of  8.8 out of 10. Toth took home a check for $10,000 and 1,750 valuable rating points.


Corona Extra Pro surfing action returns to Puerto Rico

The iconic reef at Middles beach on the North West coast of the island will see intense competition again next month when the top surfers from the Caribbean gather on October 7-9.

Middles holds an historic place in surfing history, as it was the site of the 2010 former ASP World Tour, now the WSL, when Kelly Slater surfed to win his 10th World Title. The giant swells that are pushed southward by cold fronts and tropical storms are the annual attraction that has lured International surfers to Puerto Rico for over fifty years. The shallow reef at Middles is known for producing the hollow waves that often make the competition there a “tube riding contest”.

This will be the 30th edition of the Corona Extra Pro Surf Circuit, and it will add up the point’s race to crown the 2016-2017 O'Neill Series Champions for both the men and women competitors. The competition season is supported by APSPR (Association of Professional Surfers of Puerto Rico) and consists of three events. Each has over $37,000 in prize money, with $25,000 allocated for the men and $12,000 for the women’s. The Men’s winner will take home a first place check for $10,000. The Women’s champion will receive $5,000”.  A field of 60 or more contestants is expected that will include competitors from US, Caribbean Islands, Central and South America. Last year defending champs of this event are Brian Toth (PR) and Nikki Viesiens (US).

Evan Thompson (FL) and Chelsea Roett (BRB) won the last event at Domes in March. At that time, the Corona Extra Pro Surfing Circuit O’neill Series also crowned circuit champions Asher Nolan (FL) and Alexis Engstrom (PR).

The current ratings leaders for the Men are: Asher Nolan (US), Brian Toth (PR) Rafael Pereira (VNZ) Cody Thompson (US) and Gabriel Escudero (PR). Nolan, Toth and Escudero are all previous winners of APSPR events.