2017 03 500x675

Feb. 4, 2017
For Immediate Release:
Corona Extra Pro Surfing Circuit O'neill Series Back at Domes!

Event #2 on the "Corona Extra Pro Surf Circuit O'neill Series" competition season.

This year, a field of seventhy five or more contestants is expected next mont that will include a great field of competitors from the US, the Caribbean, Central and South América.

The contest will have a total purse of $37,000, divided into $25,000 for the Men and $12,000 for the Women, which means that we will be able to pay the winner of the Men a first prize of $10,000. The Women's champion will receive $5,000". 

On top of the $37.000 purse, O'neill is awarding with $1,000 for each division for the surfer with the best performance during competition.

This is the 2nd event of 3 for the 2016-2017 circuit which will determine the APSPR Men's and Women's Champions. Currently leading the ratings are Brian Toth of Isabela, PR, and MaríaKuzmovich, also from Isabela P.R. after they both won the first event of the season at Middles Beach last October. Last year men's circuit Champion and event defending champ Asher Nolan, from

Florida is also expected to compete. On the women's side, last year women's circuit Champion Alexis Engstrom, of Montauk, NY and last year Domes event champ Chelsea Roett are expected tocompete and defend their titles. Engstrom finished third on last event at Middles. The race for the season title is comprised of the total points that the competitors collect in three events.

Corona Extra and the event organizers are hoping to get more of the huge and challenging conditions that northerly swells throws at Domes during this time of the year.

The giant swells that are pushed southward by cold fronts in the Northern Hemisphere are the attraction that has lured international surfers to Puerto Rico for fifty years.

Brian Toth and María Kuzmovich were able to take the circuit lead after winning the first event last October at Middles. Toth is now a five-time champion of the APSPR Circuit and the most successful Puerto Rican surfer ever, having competed for several years on the WSL.

Surfing fans who are unable to attend in person at Rincon will have the opportunity to follow the action on LIVE on our website www.apspr.net

The other generous sponsors of the Corona Extra Pro Circuit are:

Corona Extra, O'neill, AT&T, Jose Cuervo, Pitorro, Hang Loose Surf Shop, Werner Vega Surfboards, El Nuevo Día, Wapa,
Alfa Rock, Mundo Rad.


To enter:

Can register online at http://apspr.net/13/
Can download an entry form from http://apspr.net/13/ and mail it with payment to APSPR or deliver it at Hang Loose Surf Shop
(787) 560-0181 from 10:00am - 4:00pm.

Can register in person at Hang Loose Surf Shop 787-560-0181 from 10:00am - 4:00pm.
You must be an active APSPR member to enter this event.

For all competitors:

If you are not a current member, you must pay your membership when you register for this event.

Entries should be received no later than Wednesday February 22, 2017.

After Wednesday February 22, 2017 a late entry fee of $35.00 will be charged.

Entry deadline is Saturday, February 25, 2017 at 12:00 MN.

Entries will not be accepted after Saturday, March 25, 2017.