2015 500x675



Corona Extra Pro Surf Circuit returns to Domes.

On the weekend of March 7 & 8 exciting pro surfing action returns to Puerto Rico at iconic Domes Beach in Rincon. The alternate site is nearby Maria's. Domes holds an historic place in surfing history, as it was the site of the 1968 World Surfing Titles, when Hawaiian Fred Hemmings surfed to victory over Australians Midget Farrelly and Nat Young. The giant swells that are pushed southward by cold fronts in the Northern Hemisphere are the annual attraction that has lured International surfers to Puerto Rico for fifty winters.

This will be the 27th edition of the Corona Extra Pro Surf Circuit, and it will kick off the points race to crown the 2015-2016 O'Neill Series Champions for both the men and women competitors. The competition season is supported by APSPR (Association of Professional Surfers of Puerto Rico) and consists of three events. Each has over $37,000 in prize money, with $25,000 allocated for the men and $12,000 for the women, meaning over $110,000 will be awarded in prize money to the surfers as the yearly champions are decided. This event will also feature the $1,000 O'Neill best performance awards, which are awarded for the highest heat scores in both the men's and women's divisions.

The Corona Extra Pro Surf Circuit, was founded in 2001 by Werner Vega, surfboard shaper and owner of Hang Loose Surf Shop, in Isabela. “Since we began fourteen years ago, Corona Extra has been the biggest supporter of Puerto Rican pro surfers” said Mr. Vega. The continued support of Corona Extra shows a huge commitment to the sport and it’s athletes. The contest will have a total purse of $37,000, divided into $25,000 for the Men and $12,000 for the Women, which means that we will be able to pay the winner of the Men a first prize of $10,000. The Women’s champion will receive $5,000”. A field of 60 or more contestants is expected that will include competitors from the Mainland East Coast, West Coast, Argentina, Venezuela and the Caribbean.

The Domes contest will also kick off the points race to crown the 2015 APSPR season’s champions. The 2014 defending champions are longtime Puerto Rican local Gabriel Escudero and Chelsea Tuach, of Barbados. The race for the title is comprised of the points that the competitors collect in three events. After Domes next month, they will then compete at Middles, in Isabela in the Fall, and again at Domes in the Spring of 2016. The local competitors who will be challenging Escudero are led by the Toth brothers, Brian and Wesley, and Alejandro Moreda, of San Juan. Venezuelan veteran Magnum Martinez will once again be competing, in hopes of repeating his performance at Middles last November, where he edged out Brian Toth for the victory.

On the Women's side of the draw, Bajan Chelsea Tuach has been dominant for the last two years. Her closest challengers in 2014 were Mainland girls Nikki Viesens, Alexis Engstrom and Emily Ruppert. The top-rated Puerto Rican woman was Idalis Alvarado.

For all competitors:
You can register online at www.apspr.net and make payment via Paypal, or download the entry form and mail it with payment to the APSPR address on the entry form header.
You can also register at Hang Loose Surf Shop, located at road 4466 km. 1.2 Bo. Bajura, Isabela P.R. For info call at 787-560-0181.

Entries should be received no later than Wednesday, February 25. After February 25 a late entry fee of $35.00 will be charged.
Entry deadline is Saturday, February 28. After February 28 2015 no entries will be accepted.

For surfing fans:
“Surfing fans who are unable to attend in person at Domes will once again have the opportunity to follow the action online with the popular “Heats on Demand” feature”, said APSPR Event Coordinator, Viviannee Vega. They will have access to every scoring ride of the event. On our website < www.apspr.net > you can scan the draw, and select which heat you would like to view and much more. Each scoring ride is shown, along with the points earned for that wave, through the technology of the Beach Byte computer scoring system. Each of the five judges enters their scores for each surfer’s rides into the computer, which tallies the points and decides the winners. All of that scoring information is then available on the APSPR website to anyone with access to a modem.

The generous sponsors of the Corona Extra Pro Circuit O’neill Series are:
Corona Extra, Corona Light, O'Neill, Compañía de Turismo, AT&T, Coppertone, Finlandia, Jose Cuervo, Cabreiroá, Mango's, Wapa TV, El Nuevo Día, N-Punto, MundoRad, Werner Vega Surfboards and Hang Loose Surf Shop.