The iconic reef at Middles beach on the north west coast of the island will see intense competition again next month when the top surfers from the Caribbean gather on October 12 –14, 2018.

20180913 0

Middles holds an historic place in surfing history, as it was the site of the 2010 former ASP World Tour, now the WSL, when Kelly Slater surfed to win his 10th World Title and Stephanie Gilmore won her 4th World Title. But this year, something unprecedented is happening at the iconic surf break, it will be the first event ever in Puerto Rico to grant equal gender pay and largest purse prize to be awarded in parity among top 16 of the Men’s and Women’s field.

20180913 A
Hector Santa María, Photo: AC/APSPR©

This will be the 33rd edition and first event of the 2018-2019 Corona Pro Surf Circuit and will start the race to crown the 2018 - 2019 Corona Pro Circuit Champions for both the men’s and women’s competitors. The competition season is supported by APSPR (Association of Professional Surfers of Puerto Rico) and consists of three events. Each has over $46,500 in prize money. The Men’s and Women’s winner will take home a first place check for  $10,000. A field of 60 or more contestants is expected that will include competitors from US, Caribbean Islands, Central and South America. Last year defending champs of this event are Brian Toth (PR) and María Kuzmovich (PR).

Last year top ratings leaders for the Men are: Brian Toth (PR), Gabriel Escudero (PR). Ricardo Delgado, Leif Kelaki Engstrom (US), Jorge Rivera Benítez (PR), Josie Graves (PR), and Hector Santamaría, Toth and Escudero are all previous winners of APSPR events.

20180913 C
Jolari Carrera, Photo: AC/APSPR©

On the ladies side the current points leaders are: Alexis Engstrom (PR), María Kuzmovich (PR), Idalis Alvarado (PR), Jazmine Dean (US), Amy Murphree (PR). Engstrom, Kuzmovich and Alvarado are all previous winners of APSPR events.

The APSPR was founded in 2001 and regulates the sport of professional surfing in Puerto Rico and in that capacity sanctions and coordinates separate surfing events such as the Open Series, Jr. Pro Series, Longboard Series, Masters Series and Specialty Events for men and women on an international level. Since APSPR began fifteen years ago, Corona has been the biggest supporter of Puerto Rican pro surfers, this event mark the 12th Surf Season and will be the 33rd edition of the Corona Pro Surf Circuit. “The continued support of Corona shows a huge commitment to the sport and it’s athletes” said Mr. Vega, founder of the APSPR.

20180913 B
For entries:

(Registration online) Competitors can register and pay entry on our website: You can also download the entry form from our website, mail it with payment to APSPR 
and pay with money order or cash. Personal checks are not accepted. All entries should 
be received with payment no later than Wednesday October 3, 2018. Past Wednesday October 3, 2018 a late entry fee of $35.00 will be charged. Entry deadline is Saturday, October 6 2018. Surfers who do not comply with deadline, the entry will be accepted under following conditions; If there is available space, Entry fee will be x2, no seeding points, your place on the draw will be allocated at sole discretion of the APSPR. 

Thank to all our generous sponsors:

Corona, Jose Cuervo, Mundo Rad, Wener Vega Surfboards, Hang Loose Surf Shop, Pitorro. 

Best Regards,

APSPR Media Staff

Mobil: (787) 560 -0181